All Stars

Mayo 42 All Stars and counting....

Mayo have amassed a total of 42 All-Stars since the scheme was officially initiated in 1971. Johnny Carey from Bangor, then playing with Tuam Stars, made the very first team at right-full back.

The most recent winners were in 2016 when David Clarke(first award), Brendan Harrison(Aghamore's first ever winner), Lee Keegan and Colm Boyle all picked up awards.

Westport's Lee Keegan is now Mayo's most decorated player with four awards after wins in 2012, 2013, 2015 & 2016. He has been selected at right-half back on every occasion. He was also named GAA/GPA Footballer of the in 2016.

Keith Higgins & Colm Boyle are next on the roll of honour, both have three awards. Ballyhaunis clubman Keith Higgins was selected in 2012, 2013 and 2014 while Colm Boyle has been rewarded with his excellent displays in 2013, 2014 and 2016.

Willie Joe Padden, Dermot Flanagan, Kenneth Mortimer, Alan Dillon, James Nallen, James Horan & Aiden O'Shea are the Mayo players who have been selected twice.

Cillian O'Connor was twice named Young Player of the Year winning the award in successive years, 2012 & 2013. His brother Diarmuid O'Connor won the same award, winning it in 2015 and again in 2016.

Mayo's All Stars:
1971: Johnny Carey (Right-Full Back)

1979: Joe McGrath (Left-Full Forward)

1985: Dermot Flanagan (Left-Full Back), Willie Joe Padden (Midfield), Kevin McStay (Right-Full Forward)

1989: Gabriel Irwin (Goalkeeper), Jimmy Browne (Right-Full Back), Dermot Flanagan (Left-Full Back), Willie Joe Padden (Midfield), Noel Durkin (Left-Half Forward)

1992: TJ Kilgallon (Midfield)

1993: Kevin O'Neill (Right-Half Forward)

1996: Kenneth Mortimer (Right-Full Back), Pat Holmes (Right-Half Back), James Nallen (Centre-Half Back), Liam McHale (Midfield), James Horan (Left-Half Forward)

1997: Kenneth Mortimer (Right-Full Back), Pat Fallon (Midfield)

1999: James Horan (Left-Half Forward).

2004: James Nallen (Centre-Half Back), Ciaran McDonald (Centre-Half Forward)

2006: Alan Dillon (Left-Half Forward), Conor Mortimer (Right-Full Forward).

2011: Andy Moran (Full Forward).

2012: Ger Cafferkey (Full Back), Keith Higgins (Left-Full Back), Lee Keegan (Right-Half Back), Alan Dillon (Centre-Half Forward).

2013: Keith Higgins (Left-Full Back), Lee Keegan (Right-Half Back), Colm Boyle (Left-Half Back), Aiden O'Shea (Midfield).

2014: Keith Higgins (Left-Full Back), Colm Boyle (Left-Half Back), Cillian O'Connor (Right-Corner Forward).

2015: Lee Keegan (Right-Half Back), Aiden O'Shea (Full Forward).

2016: David Clarke (Goalkeeper), Brendan Harrison (Right-Corner Back) Lee Keegan (Right-Half Back), Colm Boyle (Centre Half Back).