Mayo Senior Football Team v Sligo

  • May 18,2017

Mayo will be looking to regain the Connacht title they last won in 2015 when their 2017 championship season gets underway against Sligo on Sunday in Elvery's MacHale Park.

Manger Stephen Rochford hands out just one debut with 2016 All Ireland U21 winner Fergal Boland starting in the half forwards. Having missed most of last season through injury fit again Ger Cafferjey returns at full back. In total there are five changes to the team which started the 2016 All Ireland final replay defeat, with David Clarke, Chris Barrett, Ger Cafferkey, Fergal Boland & Conor O'Shea all replacing Robbie Hennelly, Brendan Harrison(Injured), Donal Vaughan, Aidan O'Shea & Jason Doherty.

Interestingly both Colm Boyle & Tom Parsons made their championship debuts against Sligo on the same day back in 2008.

The Mayo team for Sundays Connacht Quarter Final against Sligo in Elvery's MacHale Park at 2pm is:

1.   David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
2.   Chris Barrett (Belmulet)
3.   Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites)
4.   Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
5.   Colm Boyle (Davitts)
6.   Lee Keegan (Westport)
7.   Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)
8.   Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy)
9.   Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
10. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
11. Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)
12. Conor O'Shea (Breaffy)
13. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
14. Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, captain)
15. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen).

Team Manager: Stephen Rochford.
Selectors: Donie Buckley, Peter Burke & Tony McEntee.