Mayo V Donegal Hurling Match Report

  • May 23,2021

Allianz National Hurling League, Division 2B, Round 3 – O’Donnell Park, Letterkenny.

Donegal ease past last lustre Mayo.

Mayo 0-13 Donegal 4-18

Donegal totally outclassed a lacklustre and under par Mayo Senior Hurling team today at O’Donnell Park in Letterkenny.  Mayo were rocked before the start as Mayo captain Keith Higgins was unable to travel forcing Derek Walsh to shuffle his attach just before throw in.  The visitors started brightly and dominated procession but Mayo were wayward with their shooting hitting six wides inside the first quarter.  Donegal on the other hand were clinical in front of goals and took every opportunity that came their way.  Eoin Delaney, Shane Boland, Adrian Phillips and Corey Scahill pointed but Mayo were playing second fiddle for most of the half.  Donegal hit three great goals in the first half, Declan Coulter with two and centre forward Richie Ryan kicking to the net after a long dropping pass from Daniel Cullen.  Coutler was outstanding and his move to full forward allowed Donegal target the deadly accurate and skilful hurler on the edge of the square.  His pace and handing was immaculate and when the opportunities arose, he had only goal on his mind. 

Derek Walsh sent Sean Regan, Brian Hunt and Conor Murray into the fray at half time but Donegal were 3-12 to 0-07 in front ten minutes into the half.  Coulter was on fire from frees and corner forward Bernard Lafferty was magical at top of the right hitting four points from play.  Donegal landed another major just before the sos uisce when Ronan McDermott volleyed to the net after Mayo goalkeeper Bobby Douglas failed to clear his line.  From there to the finish, it was all Donegal.  Coulter and substitute Ruairí Campbell hitting excellent points from way out the field.  Mayo to their credit fought to the end with Boland, Adrian, Mark and Cormac Phillips all hitting scores from play.  It was too little too late for Mayo who make the long journey home after a poor performance on the road. 

Mayo: Bobby Douglas, David Kenny, Michael Morley, Sean Kenny, Conor Daly, Pearse McCrann, Stephen Coyne, Kieran Kiely, Daniel Huane, Adrian Phillips (0-02), Cathal Freeman (0-01), Eoin Delaney (0-01), Corey Scahill (0-01), Brian Morley (0-01), Shane Boland (0-04, 0-02f).

Subs: Sean Regan for Eoin Delaney, Brian Hunt (0-01) for Kieran Kiely, Conor Murray for Sean Kenny (all half time) Gary Nolan for David Kenny (45) Cormac Philips (0-01) for Daniel Huane (45) James Gallagher for Corey Scahill (58) Mark Phillips (0-01) for Brian Morley (63)

Donegal: Luke White, Gavin Brown, Stephen Gillespie, Mark Callaghan, Christopher McDermott, Sean McVeigh (0-01), Michael Donaghue, Declan Coulter (2-08, 0-06f), Ciaran Mathewson, Danny Cullen (0-01), Richie Ryan (1-02), Jack O’Loughlin, Bernard Lafferty 0-04), Ronan McDermott (1-00), Gerry Gilmore.


Subs: Josh Connolly for Sean McVeigh (45) Padraig Doherty for Michael Donaghue, Niall Cleary for Danny Cullen (62) Ruairi Campbell (0-02,2f) for Richie Ryan, Oisin Grant for Declan Coulter (65) Colm Flood for Ronan McDermott (73)

Referee: Kevin Parke (Antrim).