Mayo Hurling team announced

  • Jun 25,2021


Mayo senior hurling manager Derek Walsh has named a very strong team for their opening Nickey Rackard Championship clash against Donegal this weekend. Oisin Greally and Pearse McCrann make their Championship debuts with Keith Higgins named at centre forward. Sean Regan partners Sean Kenny in a new look midfield with Brian Hunt getting the nod on the edge on the small square. 

Mayo’s group will be played in a Round Robin format and each team will have one home and one away game with the top two teams qualifying for the Semi-Finals and the third placed team playing in the Quarter-Final.

The winner of the Nickey Rackard Cup will be promoted to the Christy Ring Cup for 2022. Donegal defeated Mayo 3-18 to 0-21 in last year's Final at Croke Park. Donegal also defeated Mayo 4-18 to 0-13 earlier this year in the Allianz Hurling League Division 2B. The game this weekend takes place in O’Donnell Park in Letterkenny with a start time of 2:30pm.

The Mayo Hurling starting 15 are :

1.Bobby Douglas (Tooreen) 

2.Gary Nolan (Tooreen) 

3.Michael Morely (Tooreen) 

4.Daniel Haune (Tooreen) 

5.Conor Henry (Tooreen) 

6.Pearse McCrann (Adrahan) 

7.David Kenny (Tooreen) 

8.Sean Regan (Ballina Stephenites) 

9.Sean Kenny (Tooreen) 

10.Adrian Philips (Ballyhaunis) 

11.Keith Higgins © (Ballyhaunis) 

12.Shane Boland (Tooreen) 

13.Jason Coyne (Ballyhaunis) 

14.Brian Hunt (Ballyhaunis) 

15.Oisin Greally (Tooreen)