Mayo Team Announced

  • Sep 10,2021
Mayo manager James Horan has announced his starting 15 for the All-Ireland Final clash with Tyrone on Saturday 11th September at 5pm in Croke Park. James has made two changes to the starting team which defeated Dublin in the All-Ireland Semi-Final. Enda Hession and Byran Walsh replace Eoghan McLaughlin and Darren MacHale. Aiden O'Shea Breaffy GAA will captain the team on the day.

Mayo and Tyrone have met on 5 previous occasions in the championship, the first in the 1989 Semi-Final, and most recently in the 2016 Quarter-Final.  All these games have been played in Croke Park.  Mayo has 4 wins, the 89 semi-final, 2004 quarter-final, 2013 semi-final and 2016 quarter-final.  Tyrone's only championship win over Mayo came in 2008, a round 3 qualifier that was played in Croke Park.  The counties have never met previously in a All-Ireland Final.
3 Mayo players will be making their 7th appearance in an All-Ireland  Final, - Lee Keegan Westport GAA, Aiden O' Shea Breaffy GAA and Kevin McLoughlin Knockmore GAA.  They all played in the 2012, 2013, 2016 (Draw & replay), 2017 & 2020 Finals.  They will thus equal the record of Keith Higgins (2004, 06, 12, 13, 16 D & R, & 17). The game will be live on RTE and Sky Sports, it will also be broadcast live on Midwest Radio with commentary with Michael D McAndrew and Martin Carney.

The Mayo starting team is as follows:

1.Rob Hennelly -Breaffy
2.Padraig O'Hora - Ballina Stephenites
3.Lee Keegan - Westport
4.Michael Plunkett - Ballintubber
5.Paddy Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels
6.Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
7.Enda Hession - Garrymore
8.Matthew Ruane - Breaffy
9.Conor Loftus - Crossmolina
10.Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber
11.Aidan O Shea - Breaffy
12.Bryan Walsh - Ballintubber
13.Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore
14.Tommy Conroy - The Neale
15.Ryan O'Donoghue - Beal an Mhuirthead

Manager: James Horan,
Selectors: Ciaran McDonnell, Martin Lally, Tom Higgins, James Burke