Team Announcement

  • Jan 27,2022
Mayo manager James Horan has named a very strong team for Mayo's opening Allianz National Football League game against Donegal this weekend with nine players that started last year's All-Ireland Football Final against Tyrone listed to start. Jason Doherty makes his first appearance in almost two and a half years, his last game was also against Donegal in the Super 8's on the 3rd of August in Hastings MacHale Park, Eoghan McLaughlin and Conor O'Shea all return to the starting fifteen with Castlebar Mitchell's Donnacha McHugh making his league debut at center-back.  McLaughlin is joined on the team by his Westport GAA club mates Lee Keegan at corner-back and Fionn McDonagh at wing forward. Lee Keegan will make is 130th league and championship appearance this Sunday. Knockmore's Aiden Orme makes his first start at center-forward and this will make it his first start in the league, last year Aiden made 4 sub appearances. The team will be captained by Stephen Coen Hollymount/Carramore.  Regulars Aidan O'Shea, Brendan Harrison, Michael Plunket, Bryan Walsh and Jordan Flynn are all named amongst the substitutes.  Newcomers Sam Callinan, Ruairí Keane, Frank Irwin and Pearse Ruttledge are also named on the bench. 
The game will be live on TG4 and live commentary on Midwest Radio with Michael D McAndrew and Austin O'Malley.
The Mayo Team named as:

1 Rob Hennelly – Roibeard O Hionnaile  Breaffy 

2. Lee Keegan – Laoi Mac Aogáin – Westport 

3. Stephen Coen  © – Stiofáin O Cadhain – Hollymount/Carramore 

4. Padraig O’Hora – Pádraig O hOra – Ballina Stephenites 

5. Paddy Durcan – Pádraig O Durcáin – Castlebar Mitchels 

6. Donnacha McHugh – Donnacha Mac Aodh – Castlebar Mitchels 

7. Eoghan Mc Laughlin – Eoghan Mac Lochlainn – Westport 

8. Conor O’ Shea – Conchur O Se – Breaffy 

9. Conor Loftus – Conchur O Lachtnáin – Crossmolina Deel Rovers 

10. Fionn McDonagh – Fionn Mac Donncha – Westport 

11. Aiden Orme – Aodhán Orme – Knockmore 

12. Diarmuid O Connor – Diarmuid O Conchuir - Ballintubber 

13. Tommy Conroy – Tomás O Conaire – The Neale 

14. Jason Doherty – Seasáon O Dochartaigh - Burrishoole 

15 Ryan O’Donoghue – Riain O Donnachadh Beal a Mhuirthead 


16. Rory Byrne – Ruairi O Broin – Castlebar Mitchels 

17. Sam Callinan – Somhairle O Calináin - Ballina Stephenites 

18. Brendan Harrison – Breandán O Hearchai – Aghamore 

19. Michael Plunkett – Micheal Pluinceid – Ballintubber 

20. Ruairi Keane – Ruairi Mac Aodháin  – Mayo Gaels  

21. Aidan O’ Shea – Aodhán O Se – Breaffy 

22. Jordan Flynn – Siuirtán Floinn – Crossmolina Deel Rovers 

23. Pearse Ruttledge – Piaras  O Maoildeirg – Knockmore 

24. Bryan Walsh – Brian Breachneach – Ballintubber 

25. Paul Towey – Pol Tuathaigh– Charlestown 

26. Frank Irwin – Proinseas  O hEireamháin Ballina Stephenites 

 Manager: James Horan

Selectors: Ciaran McDonald, James Burke, Martin Lally, Tom Higgins