Mayo Senior Team Announced

  • Mar 16,2022

Mayo manager James Horan has made five changes to his side ahead of their crucial Round 6 Allianz National Football League game against Tyrone this weekend. Into the team comes Ballaghdereen's David McBrien for his first league start of the season. McBrien is named to start at full-back with Lee Keegan moving to the corner. The player to lose out is Padraig O'Hora. Castlebar Mitchels youngster Donncha McHugh also returns to the full-back line and replaces Michael Plunkett. Matthew Ruane and Jordan Flynn continue to develop their excellent partnership and once again line out at midfield. Upfront Horan has reshuffled his attack with Fionn McDonagh coming in for Jack Carney, Jason Doherty replacing Diarmuid O'Connor and Paul Towey also named to start at centre-forward. Horan has made numerous positional changes with Aiden O'Shea named at center-back with Paddy Durcan the player losing out and Towey now leading the attach instead. Next Saturday will be the 30th League meeting of Tyrone and Mayo, with the first in 1974 and the most recent in 2020. Tyrone have won 12, Mayo 11, with 6 draws, so the rivalry is always tight between the counties. 12 meetings have been on Tyrone soil, with 8 of these in Omagh. Mayo have a good record in Healy Park, winning 5 times, to 3 wins for Tyrone. The game takes place on Saturday, March 19th at Healy Park in Omagh with a 5:45pm throw in. Maurice Deegan is the appointed referee. The game is live on RTE 2 and live commentary on Midwest Radio with Michael D McAndrew and Mark Ronaldson.

1. Rob Hennelly – Roibeard O’Hionnaile - Breaffy
2. Lee Keegan – Laoi MacAogáin – Westport
3. David McBrien - Dáithí Mac Briain - Ballaghadereen
4. Donnacha McHugh – Donnacha MacAodh – Castlebar Mitchels
5. Oisín Mullin - Oisín Ó’Maoláin - Kilmaine
6. Aidan O’Shea – Aodhán O’Se – Breaffy
7. Stephen Coen © – Stiofáin O’Cadhain – Hollymount/Carramore
8. Jordan Flynn – Siuirtán Floinn – Crossmolina Deel Rovers
9. Matthew Ruane - Maitiú Ó Ruáin - Breaffy
10. Fionn McDonagh – Fionn MacDonncha – Westport
11. Paul Towey – Pol Tuathaigh– Charlestown Sarsfields
12. Fergal Boland - Fearghal Ó’Beolláin - Aghamore
13. Aiden Orme – Aodhán Orme – Knockmore
14. Jason Doherty - Séasáon Dochartaigh - Burrishoole
15. Ryan O’Donoghue – Riain O’Donnachadh - Beal a Mhuirthead
16. Rory Byrne – Ruairi O Broin – Castlebar Mitchels
17. Brendan Harrison - Breandan Ó Hearchaí - Aghamore
18. Padraig O’Hora – Pádraig O’hOra – Ballina Stephenites
19. Michael Plunkett – Micheal Pluinceid – Ballintubber
20. Rory Brickenden - Ruairí Brickenden - Westport
21. Enda Hession - Éanna Ó hOisín - Garrymore
22. Kevin McLoughlin - Caoimhín MacLochlainn - Knockmore
23. Conor O’ Shea – Conchur O’Se – Breaffy
24. Conor Loftus – Conchur O’Lachtnáin – Crossmolina Deel Rovers
25. Jack Carney - Sean O’Cearnaigh – Kilmeena
26. Darren Coen - Darán Ó Cadhain - Hollymount Carramore

Manager James Horan

Selectors: Ciaran McDonald, James Burke, Tom Higgins & Martin Lally