Mayo U17 Hurling Team Announced

  • May 06,2022

Mayo U17 team to face Longford in the Electric Ireland Celtic Challenge All-Ireland Quarter Final

Mayo GAA U17 hurling manager Brian Finn has made four changes to his side ahead of their crucial Electric Ireland Celtic Challenge All-Ireland Quarter-Final against Longford this Saturday (May 7th) at the Adrian Freeman Park Tooreen.  Into the side comes Sean Keadin from Claremorris hurling club, Anthony Rowland from Castlebar hurling club, Sean Lynskey from Tooreen hurling club and Cathal Guilfoyle from Westport GAA.  Keadin and Rowland now join Ryan Finn in a new look half-back line with Lynskey and Guilfoyle both introduced upfront.  The players losing out, Rian Harran, Sean Duffy, Damien Earley and Evan Furlong are all named on the bench.  The Mayo U17 hurlers have developed into a formidable team over the past few months defeating a much-fancied Tyrone side 3-11 to 3-03 at the Glencar Manorhamilton GAA Grounds in Leitrim last time out.  Midfielders Sean McGhee from Ballyvary and Matthew Connor from Caiseal Gaels have been outstanding all season for Mayo with Colm Enright, Aidan Cunningham and Colin Duffy deadly accurate in front of goals.  The Celtic Challenge was established in 2016 and is the only competition in hurling that has teams from all 32 counties participating.  Mayo’s All-Ireland Quarter-Final against Longford this Saturday, May 7th has a 7:00pm start time.  Galway referee John Cahill will be in charge of the whistle.

Mayo Hurling Team as Follows:

  1. Stephen Reilly Tooreen
  2. Connor Ketterick Westport
  3. Rory Deane Castlebar Mitchels Hurling
  4. Tom Lambert Westort
  5. Sean Keadin Claremorris
  6. Ryan Finn Tooreen
  7. Anthony Rowland Castlebar Mitchels Hurling
  8. Sean McGhee Ballyvary
  9. Matthew Connor Caiseal Gaels
  10. Sean Lynskey Tooreen
  11. Colm Enright Castlebar Mitchels Hurling
  12. Conor Donaldson Castlebar Mitchels Hurling
  13. Cathal Guildfoyle Westport
  14. Aidan Cunningham Castlebar Mitchels Hurling
  15. Colin Duffy Caiseal Gaels
  1. Eoin Healy Ballina Stephenites
  2. Lee Hennigan Castlebar Mitchels Hurling
  3. Evin Furlong Westport
  4. Sean Duffy Ballina Stephenites
  5. Thomas O'Reilly Westport
  6. Oisin Mulroy Castlebar Mitchels Hurling
  7. Dylan Groarke Tooreen
  8. Rian Haran Caiseal Gaels
  9. Eoin Conway Tooreen
  10. Damien Early Ballina Stephenites
  11. Charlie Kelly Westport
  12. Michael Foody Claremorris
  13. Jake Glavey Tooreen
Manager: Brian Finn
Selectors: Austin Kenny & David Hurley
Physio Tommie Burke