Mayo Senior Hurling Team named Announced

  • May 06,2022
Mayo senior hurling team named to face Sligo

Mayo GAA senior hurling manager Derek Walsh has made two changes to his side ahead of their crucial Round 4 Christy Ring Cup clash with Sligo this Saturday, (May 7th) at 2:00pm at James Stephen's Park in Ballina.  Tooreen's Gary Nolan is named at corner-back in place of Brian Hunt with Kenny Feeney named at full-forward in place of Eoin Delaney.  Bobby Douglas continues to impress in goals with Paul Kirwan, Mark Phillips, and David Kenny now all regular starters.  After a hugely impressive win away to London last time out Walsh has remained loyal to his back six with the only change seeing Ger McManus and Stephen Coyne switching positions.  Coyne now starts at centre-back with McManus on the edge of the square.  Ballyhaunis and Mayo stalwart Keith Higgins and Daniel Huane are named at midfield.  Upfront Kenny Feeney will lead the attack from full-forward with Joe McManus and captain Shane Boland in the corners.  The half-forward line is the same as against London with Sean Kenny, the formidable Joe Mooney and Adrian Phillips named to start for consecutive weeks.  Cavan referee James Clarke is down to officiate the game with the sliothar being thrown in at 2:00pm this Saturday. Get your tickets here:

Mayo Senior Hurling Team as Follows:
  1. Bobby Douglas Tooreen
  2. Brian Hunt Ballyhaunis
  3. Ger McManus St. Judes Dublin
  4. Paul Kirwan Ballyhaunis
  5. Mark Phillips Ballyhaunis
  6. Stephen Coyne Tooreen
  7. David Kenny Tooreen
  8. Keith Higgins Ballyhaunis
  9. Daniel Huane Tooreen
  10. Sean Kenny Tooreen
  11. Joe Mooney Loughrea Galway
  12. Adrian Phillips Ballyhaunis
  13. Joe McManus St. Judes Dublin
  14. Kenny Feeney Tooreen
  15. Shane Boland (C) Tooreen
  1. Barry Lane Castlebar Mitchels Hurling
  2. Danny Hill Ballyhaunis
  3. Kealan Gallagher Westport
  4. Patrick Lyons Tooreen
  5. Conal Hession Tooreen
  6. Darren Murray Ballina Stephenites
  7. Eoghan Rowe Claremorris
  8. Shane Crennigan Tooreen
  9. James Gallagher Westport
  10. Conor Murray Castlebar Mitchels Hurling
  11. Aaron Ketterick Westport
Manager: Derek Walsh
Selectors: Liam Hodgins, Damian Fox, John Cunnane, Trevor Kelly, David McConn, Tom Phillips & Gary Conway
Physio Shane Morley