Mayo Senior Hurling Team Announced

  • May 20,2022
Mayo senior hurling team announced for Christy Ring Hurling Final

Mayo GAA senior hurling manager Derek Walsh has named the same team and panel that defeated Derry last time out for this weekend's Christy Ring All-Ireland Hurling Final in Croke Park at 5:00pm.  The team is captained by Tooreen's Shane Boland who hit 0-12 in a virtuoso performance against Derry last weekend with Joe McManus and Eoin Delaney completing a formidable full forward line.  The industrious Joe Mooney starts at centre-forward with Adrian Phillips and the deadly accurate Sean Kenny on the wings.  The evergreen Keith Higgins and Daniel Huane continue at midfield after excelling against Derry, Sligo and London in recent weeks.  The Mayo defence has a teak-tough spine with Stephen Coyne at full-back and Ger McManus at centre-back.  Gary Nolan and Paul Kirwan flank Coyne in the full-back line with Mark Phillips and the outstanding David Kenny on the wings.  Goalkeeper Bobby Douglas has played every single game for Mayo in both league and championship this season and he rightfully starts again between the posts this Saturday in Croke Park.  Eight of the starting fifteen this weekend also started in last year's Nicky Rackard All-Ireland Hurling Final victory over Tyrone with the McManus brothers, Joe Monney, Paul Kirwan, Mark Phillips, Eoin Delaney and Daniel Huane the newcomers on this occasion.  It is the first time ever that Mayo have reached the Christy Ring All-Ireland Hurling Final.  The game is live on TG4 with radio commentary also available on Midwest Radio.  Mayo GAA will also have live updates across all its social media channels on Saturday afternoon. Tipperary native Michael Kennedy has been appointed to referee the Christy Ring Cup Final on Saturday (May 21st) at 5:00pm in Croke Park.
Full live commentary on Midwest Radio with Michael D McAndrew and Frank Brown. 
Live on YouTube

Mayo Hurling Team is as Follows:
  1. Bobby Douglas Tooreen
  2. Gary Nolan Tooreen
  3. Stephen Coyne Tooreen
  4. Paul Kirwan Ballyhaunis
  5. Mark Phillips Ballyhaunis
  6. Ger McManus St. Jude's Dublin
  7. David Kenny Tooreen
  8. Keith Higgins Ballyhaunis
  9. Daniel Huane Tooreen
  10. Sean Kenny Tooreen
  11. Joe Mooney Loughrea Galway
  12. Adrian Phillips Ballyhaunis
  13. Eoin Delaney Tooreen
  14. Joe McManus St. Jude's Dublin
  15. Shane Boland (C) Tooreen
  1. Barry Lane Castlebar Mitchels Hurling
  2. Brian Hunt Ballyhaunis
  3. Kenny Feeney Tooreen
  4. Patrick Lyons Tooreen
  5. Conal Hession
  6. Darren Murray Ballina Stephenites
  7. Kealan Gallagher Westport
  8. Shane Crennigan Tooreen
  9.  Danny Hill Ballyhaunis
  10. Conor Murray Castlebar Mitchels Hurling
  11.  Eoghan Roe Claremorris 
Extended Panel 
Aaron Ketterick Westport
Jack Trench Tooreen
James Gallagher Westport
Padraig Mooney Tooreen
Ronan Treacy Castlebar Mitchels Hurling

Manager Derek Walsh
Backroom TeamDamian Fox, Liam Hodgins, Johnny Cunnane, Tom Phillips, David McConn, Micheál Walsh, Trevor Kelly, Gary Conway
S&C Coach David Hughes & Kieran Kilkenny
Physio Shane Morley

Chairperson Jimmy Connors

Secretary Sean Ó Raghallaigh