Newcomers Moytura Take National Title

  • Oct 27,2022

Newcomers Moytura Take National Title


Moytura (Mayo)                               1-16

Castlebar Mitchels B (Mayo)       0-10

In The Neale GAA Grounds


The last game of the National Cuchulain League for 2022 took place in The Neale GAA Grounds in South Mayo on Sunday last 23rd October. The Neale GAA pitch is based in the picturesque village of Cong close to Lough Corrib and in view of the famous Ashford Castle. With all the local historical landmarks nearby, another piece of history was made as the newly formed Moytura adult hurling side claimed their first bit of silverware with this hard fought win over Castlebar Mitchels in this National decider.


In a game which was delayed over the last number of months for a plethora of reasons, this final eventually got underway – and the fare on show was very good considering the time of year. It was the locals who charged out of the blocks with intent as they registered the first four points of the game from Sam Forde (3) and David Lynagh from play. Freetaker Abby Abbassi for Castlebar – and Moytura captain John Heraty exchanged points - before Abbassi scored four more peaches of frees on the trot to draw his side back level – 0-5 apiece on twenty minutes. Very little separated the sides in the opening half as Tony Sweeney and Abbassi again pointed for the county-town, while Joe Burke and David Varley opened their Moytura accounts as the tie heated up. Deep in closing half stoppage time, neither side were presenting goal chances at the back as two long range points from play were exchanged late on from Conor Murray (Castlebar) and John Heraty (Moytura) to leave the tie level at 0-8 apiece going in at the short whistle interval.


The dismissal of Castlebar’s Ryan Butler on a second yellow card just before half time however put a different complexion on the second half of the game. With the towering James Murphy now acting as the spare man at the back for Moytura, Castlebar had it all to do to break through the Moytura rearguard. Johnny Granahan for Moytura opened with a long range point before Abbassi again registered his seventh placed ball. Moytura pressed forward but couldn’t make their numerical advantage count – and with just ten minutes remaining, Moytura held a slender one point lead. But in the final ten minutes of the game, the Castlebar reaguard was finally breached as Moytura hit 1-5 without reply to finish out strongest. The goal – coming in the 57th minute from substitute Thomas Holleran – after a brilliant catch and offload from Evan Summerville – was the defining moment of the game and there was no way back for the Castlebar side. Evan Heraty for Moytura wrapped up the game with two long range frees in stoppage time before referee Eadhmonn MacSuibhne drew a halt to proceedings.


After the game Connacht GAA PRO John Hopkins presented the National Cuchulain Division 3 Trophy to Moytura captain John Heraty. In what was the final game of the Cuchulain season, this result compounded the growth of hurling in the region as Moytura (Division3) joined Tooreen (Division1) and Naomh Eoin (Division2) in claiming National titles in the inaugural year of the Cuchulain competition.


Moytura: Ger Connolly; Patrick Burke, James Murphy, Conor Doyle; Joe Burke (0-1), Micheal Varley, Frank Burke; Evan Heraty (0-2,2f), Conor O’Malley; David Varley (0-1), John Heraty (0-3,1f), Johnny Granahan (0-1); Sam Forde (0-7,6f), David Lynagh (0-1), Kevin O’Brien. Subs: Shane McGahon, Jack Flanagan, Darren Monroe, Thomas Holleran (1-0), Evan Summerville, Anthony Leahy, Ger Lynagh, Gary Hopkins, Patrick Leamy, Thomas Lynagh,  Rory King, Tomas Fahy, Brendan Varley, Michael McDonnell, Eoin Reilly, James Biggins, Danny Gibbons.


Castlebar Scorers: Abby Abbassi (0-8,7f), Tony Sweeney (0-1), Conor Murray (0-1).


Referee: Eadhmonn MacSuibhne (Kiltimagh)