Mayo Senior Football Team Announced

  • Mar 17,2023

Press Release

Mayo senior football manager Kevin McStay has made three changes from the team that started against Roscommon last time out, for Sunday's Round 6 Allianz National Football league game against Donegal this Sunday at 3:45pm in Ballybofey.

Colm Reape returns between the posts in place of Rory Byrne with Aidan O'Shea and Ryan O'Donoghue named to start ahead of Cillian O'Connor and Tommy Conroy.  Kevin McStay has named the same six backs that started against Roscommon however, Paddy Durcan and Sam Callinan have reverted to their more regular positions. Paddy Durcan is named at wing-back alongside Conor Loftus and Stephen Coen with Sam Callinan now at corner-back beside David McBrien and Jack Coyne.  

Diarmuid O'Connor and Matthew Ruane continue at midfield with Jordan Flynn, Jack Carney and Fionn McDonagh named in the half forward line.  Aidan O'Shea and Ryan O'Donoghue return to the full forward line with James Carr leading the attack from the edge of the square.

Diarmuid O' Connor will make his 100th appearance for Mayo on Sunday having played 56 championship and 43 league games for Mayo to date.  O'Connor made his debut against Kildare in 2014 and has amassed 13-64 during this time.  
(6-35 in the league and 7-29 in the championship).  Diarmuid won an All-Ireland minor football medal with Mayo in 2013 and an All-Ireland U21 football medal in 2016.  He collected the GAA Young Footballer of the Year on two occasions in 2015 and 2016.  He also won a National Football League title with Mayo in 2019.

Sean Hurson, who refereed last year's All-Ireland Football Final will officiate at the game.  The game is live on TG4 and live broadcast on Midwest Radio with Michael D McAndrew and Colm Boyle. Mayo GAA will have live updates across all social media.

Mayo starting 15 is as follows:
  1. Colm Reape - Knockmore
  2. Jack Coyne - Ballyhaunis
  3. David McBrien - Ballaghaderreen
  4. Sam Callinan - Ballina Stephenites
  5. Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
  6. Conor Loftus - Crossmolina Deel Rovers
  7. Paddy Durcan (C) - Castlebar Mitchels
  8. Matthew Ruane - Breaffy
  9. Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber
  10. Fionn McDonagh - Westport
  11. Jack Carney - Kilmeena
  12. Jordan Flynn - Crossmolina Deel Rovers
  13. Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy
  14. James Carr -  Ardagh
  15. Ryan O'Donoghue - Beal an Mhuirthead

Manager: Kevin McStay
Maor Fóirne/Roghnóir: Stephen Rochford
Selectors: Donie Buckley, Liam McHale & Damien Mulligan