• May 12,2023

Press Release 



Mayo Senior Football manager Kevin McStay has confirmed his 36-man panel for the upcoming All-Ireland Senior Football Championship.


Mayo face Kerry on Saturday May 20th in Killarney and ahead of the meeting of the All-Ireland Champions and Allianz Football League Champions, Kevin McStay held a press conference in Hastings Insurance MacHale Park today.


Kevin McStay confirmed that there are currently three injuries in the panel ahead of the clash with Kerry – Cillian O’Connor, Brendan Harrison and Rory Brickenden.

Cillian O’Connor will return to play very soon according to the manager – but the Kerry game may come too quickly for him. He said the decision on that will be made closer to game time. Brendan Harrison is ahead of where it is believed he would be at this point and is hopeful that he may be back with the group by the end of May. Rory Brickenden has had shoulder surgery but is also expected back with the group by the end of May.


Kevin McStay also warmly paid tribute to the late Dr Mickey Loftus, who passed away recently. Dr Mickey was a former President of the GAA, a referee and a non-playing substitute in the All-Ireland winning panel of 1951. He described him as a remarkable human being in terms of GAA, in medicine and family life and said he excelled at everything he did.


Mayo’s opening game in the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship is against Kerry at 3pm on Saturday May 20th in Killarney.


Mayo Panel for All-Ireland Championship


Aidan O'Shea Breaffy 

Aidan Orme Knockmore 

Bob Tuohy Castlebar Mitchels 

Conor Loftus Crossmolina 

Conor McStay Ballina 

Colm Reape Knockmore 

David McBrien Ballaghaderreen 

Darren McHale Knockmore 

Diarmuid O'Connor Ballintubber 

Donnacha McHugh Castlebar Mitchels 

Eoghan McLaughlin Westport 

Enda Hession Garrymore 

Fionn McDonagh Westport 

Frank Irwin Ballina 

Jack Carney Kilmeena 

Jack Coyne Ballyhaunis 

James Carr Ardagh 

Jason Doherty Burrishoole

James McCormack Claremoris 

Jordan Flynn Crossmolina 

Kevin McLoughlin Knockmore 

Matthew Ruane Breaffy 

Michael Plunkett Ballintubber 

Paddy Durcan Castlebar Mitchels 

Padraig O'Hora Ballina 

Paul Towey Charlestown 

Rob Hennelly Raheny

Rory Byrne Castlebar Mitchels

Ruairi Keane Mayo Gaels

Ryan O'Donoghue Belmullet 

Sam Callinan Ballina 

Stephen Coen Hollymount/Carramore

Tommy Conroy The Neale


(Currently injured)

Brendan Harrison Aghamore 

Cillian O'Connor Ballintubber 

Rory Brickenden Westport