Mayo U17 Football Team Announced

  • May 26,2023

Press Release

Mayo GAA minor football manager Sean Deane and his selectors have made one change to their starting fifteen for their crucial Connacht GAA minor football final against Galway this Friday, May 26th at 7:00pm at Tuam Stadium.  The solitary change sees Eoin McGreal named at full- back again despite not starting against Roscommon last weekend.  McGreal impressed when introduced off the bench against Roscommon with Castlebar Mitchell's Seanie O'Reilly returning to the bench on this occasion.  The Neale GAA star Tommy Lydon is named at centre forward despite playing most of the second half against Roscommon on the edge of the small square last time out.  Lydon's late cameo with two dramatic points sealed victory for Mayo over Roscommon in the semi-final.  At the back, Conor Meaney is rock solid in goal with James Lavelle and Yousif Coghill now flanking McGreal in the Mayo full-back line.  Outside them, captain Rio Mortimer anchors the half-back line with Jamie Clarke and Fionan O'Reilly on the wings.  The industrious Tiernan Egan and hard-working Shane Cunningham continues at midfield with the same six forwards named as against Roscommon.  Colm Lynch and Dara Neary are named at wing forward supporting Lydon with Darragh Beirne, the towering Josh Carey and Senan Guilfoyle named in the inside line.  Highly regarded Roscommon referee Dermot Jnr. Lyons will officiate at the game.  The game is live on TG4 and with radio commentary on Midwest Radio with Stephen Grealis and Nigel Reape.  Mayo GAA will have live updates across all social media on Friday evening.

Ticket details below

Mayo U17 Football team is as follows:

  1. Conor Meaney Westport
  2. James Lavelle Beal an Mhuirthead
  3. Eoin McGreal Garrymore
  4. Yousif Coghill Breaffy
  5. Jamie Clarke Bohola Moy Davitts
  6. Rio Mortimer Claremorris
  7. Fionan O'Reilly Castlebar Mitchels
  8. Tiernan Egan Hollymount/Carramore
  9. Shane Cunningham Castlebar Mitchels
  10. Colm Lynch Parke Keelogues Crimlin
  11. Tommy Lydon The Neale
  12. Dara Neary Parke Keelogues Crimlin
  13. Darragh Beirne Claremorris
  14. Josh Carey Kiltane
  15. Senan Guilfoyle Eastern Gaels
  1. Dylan  O'Brien Davitts
  2. Conall Breslin Aghamore
  3. Sean Walsh Killala
  4. Seanie O'Reilly Castlebar Mitchels
  5. Conor Ryder Bohola Moy Davitts
  6. Gavin Forry Castlebar Mitchels
  7. Thomas Tuffy Swinford
  8. Ryan Gibbons Castlebar Mitchels
  9. Fionnan Burke Kiltimagh

Management Team:
Manger: Sean Deane
Selectors: Shane McCann, Danny O'Toole, Colm Boyle and Martin Costello
GK Coack: Matthew Flanagan