Venues Announced for All-Ireland Championship

  • Jul 17,2006


Monday, July 17 

The Games Administration Committee of the GAA have announced the dates and venues for the 4th Round of the Bank of Ireland football championship qualifiers. They are:

-- July 29th --

Killarney 17.00: Kerry v Longford
Pearse Stadium 19.00: Galway v Westmeath

-- July 30th --

Enniskillen 14.00: Fermanagh v Donegal
Portlaoise 16.00: Laois v Offaly

The times and venues for the ESB Minor football championship quarter finals and the Junior All Ireland football final were also confirmed. They are:

-- July 29th --

ESB All Ireland Minor Football championship Quarter Finals

Clones 14.00: Donegal v Offaly
Clones 15.30: Meath v Antrim
Tullamore 15.30: Roscommon v Tipperary

-- July 30th --

Ennis 14.00: Kerry v Mayo

All Ireland Junior Football Championship Final

Ennis 15.30: Kerry v Roscommon

Bank of Ireland Football Championship Format

The format for the remainder of the Bank of Ireland football championship is as outlined below:

4th Round
1. Munster Runners Up (Kerry) v Round 3 Winner (Longford)
2. Ulster Runners Up (Donegal) v Round 3 Winners (Fermanagh)
3. Connacht Runners Up (Galway) v Round 3 Winners (Westmeath)
4. Leinster Runners Up (Offaly) v Round 3 Winners (Laois)

Quarter Finals
There are two sides to the football quarter final draw.
(a) Munster Winners (Cork) v 1 or 2 (above)
(b) Ulster Winners (Armagh) v 1 or 2 (above)*
*As Armagh have already met Donegal and Fermanagh, they can now only be drawn to play the winners of Kerry and Longford; it follows that Cork will play the winners of Donegal v Fermanagh
(c) Connacht Winners (Mayo) v 3 or 4 (above)
(d) Leinster Winners (Dublin) v 3 or 4 (above)*
*As Dublin have already played both Offaly and Laois, they can now only be drawn to play against the winners of Galway and Westmeath. It follows that Mayo will play the winners of Offaly v Laois

(a) Munster v (b) Ulster
(c) Connacht v (d) Leinster