Mayo GAA Club Charity All-star Panel Announced


Press Release

Mayo GAA Club Charity All-Star panel announced


Mayo GAA in association with the local media have named their 2023 Club All-Star panel to play the Mayo senior football team on December 30th at the Garrymore GAA grounds.  The players all starred for their clubs during the Mayo GAA Connacht Gold Senior, Egan Jewellers Intermediate and TF Royal Hotel & Theatre Junior championships this year.  The charity match is in aid of the Mayo branch of the Irish Motor Neurone Disease Association.


Mayo GAA PRO John Walker said it was a daunting task to pick the final twenty-six players, as there were some superb individual performances during the year.  “Over seventy different players featured on the Mayo GAA weekly ‘Team of the Week’ since the start of the championship the media had plenty of healthy debate and discussion before they settled on the final panel,” commented John Walker.


Sixteen different club players featured on the Mayo GAA ‘Team of the Week’ more than once during the season with Breaffy’s Aidan O’Shea, Ballinrobe’s Kevin Quinn and Ballina Stephenites Sam Callinan featuring on three different teams.


The final panel features players from all the Mayo GAA county championship winning sides with Ballina Stephenities having three players selected, (Evan Regan, Sam Callinan & Luke Feeney) Kilmeena GAA have four players on the panel (Darragh Keaveny, Jack Carney, Caolach Halligan and Stephen Staunton) with Mark Noone from Lahardane MacHales also making the cut. The management for the All-Star team on the day will be Niall Heffernan Ballina Stephenites, John Reilly Kilmeena GAA and Eddie Conway Lahardane MacHales


Lillian McGovern, Irish Motor Neurone Disease Association CEO thanked Mayo GAA for their support saying they depend heavily on donations and fundraising efforts like this one.  “We are a small organisation with 85% of our income coming from donations and fundraising.  A huge thank you to all the players from the Mayo senior team and club championship for agreeing to take part in this charity match.   It’s sure to be a crowd pleaser and I’m hopeful that there will be a great turnout from the local community,” commented Lillian McGovern.


Mayo GAA Cathaoirleach Seamus Tuohy said everyone associated with Mayo GAA were delighted to be working with the Irish Motor Neurone Disease Association as their charity partner this year.  “Motor Neurone Disease is a life changing disease and sadly we are all becoming aware of the great community and club people who are dealing with the illness.  Over the next few months we have a range of different activities planned to fundraise and support the charity and do all we can to raise awareness of the disease and the supports that are out there,” commented Seamus Tuohy


The Club All-Stars will get commemorative Mayo GAA jerseys and togs for the Charity Match with the Irish Motor Neurone Disease Association logo on them. The club players will all wear their own club socks on the day.

The charity game will also be streamed LIVE on

Mayo GAA would like thank our title sponsor Intersport Elverys for sponsoring the set of jersey’s for this charity game.


The 2023 Mayo GAA Club All-Star Panel


Aaron Timlin Knockmore

Aidan O’Shea Breaffy

Basil McLeod Louisburgh

Bob Tuohy Castlebar Mitchels

Brian Reape Bohola Moy Davitts

Conor O’Donoghue Charlestown Sarsfield

Conor Beirne Breaffy

Caolach Halligan Kilmeena

Conor O’Shea Breaffy

Darragh Keavney Kilmeena

Diarmuid Duffy Ballinrobe

Evan Regan Ballina Stephenites

Evan O’Brien Ballinrobe

Ethan Henry Mayo Gaels

Fenton Kelly Davitts

Jack Carney Kilmeena

John MacMonagle Castlebar Mitchels B

Kevin Quinn Ballinrobe

Liam Maloney Cill Chomáin

Liam Burke Ballinrobe

Luke Jennings Ballinrobe

Luke Feeney Ballina Stephenites

Mark Noone Lahardane MacHales

Peter Basquille Castlebar Mitchels B

Sam Callinan Ballina Stephenites

Stephen Staunton Kilmeena