Mayo GAA U20 & U17 Hurling Managers Ratified

Mayo GAA U20 & U17 Hurling management ratified at tonight’s County Board Meeting
Mayo GAA delegates ratified the Mayo U17 and Mayo U20 hurling management teams at their County Board meeting this evening in Castlebar.  Tooreen’s Brian Finn remains at the helm with the Mayo U20 hurlers for another year and will be joined by Westport’s Davy Kitterick, Gerry Glavey from Tooreen and Brendan Geraghty from Castlebar Mitchels as selectors.  Finn was appointed joint-manager with Ray Larkin of the Mayo senior hurlers last month and will now be tasked with developing some U20 hurlers into Intercounty senior stars for the future.  Mayo reached the All-Ireland U20 B Hurling Semi-Final earlier this year, only to be defeated by a highly rated Derry side that went on to win the competition.
The Mayo U17 hurling management team for 2024 was also ratified at tonight’s Mayo GAA County Board meeting with Claremorris’ Sean Heneghan taking charge of Mayo for the U17  All-Ireland Celtic Challenge hurling championship next year.  Heneghan will have Tooreen’s Richie Crinnigan, Ballilna Stephenities Michael Bolger and John Enright from Castlebar Mitchels as selectors.  Heneghan and Crinnigan have spent three years with the Mayo U15 hurling development panel reaching the final of the All-Ireland Hibernia Cup each year.
Mayo GAA Cathaoirleach Seamus Tuohy wished both management teams well saying they had the full support of the Mayo GAA County Board.  “There is great work taking place in Mayo to promote hurling at present and the hurling clubs and all our hurlers deserve all the support they can get.  We currently have twelve adult hurling teams in the county up from four a few years ago and great credit must go to the clubs, coaches, teachers and indeed the Mayo hurling committee for their dedication and commitment to promoting the game,” Seamus Tuohy said.