Mayo Senior Football Team Announced

Press Release

Mayo GAA Senior Football Team prepares for the visit of Dublin to Castlebar this weekend:


The Mayo GAA Senior Football team is set to take on Dublin this coming Saturday, February 3rd at 7.30 pm in a highly anticipated Allianz League Division 1 meeting under lights at Hastings Insurance McHale Park, Castlebar.

This upcoming encounter marks the 39th league meeting between the two counties, and the 14th hosted at Hastings Insurance MacHale Park. Apart from Kerry and Galway, no other teams have faced Mayo more frequently than Dublin in the League. Notably, three of these past meetings were League Finals, taking place in 1934, 1941, and 1978.

Cillian O’Connor’s goal against Galway in Salthill last Sunday, marked his 39th in both league and championship matches for Mayo, equalling the record set by Paddy Moclair, who achieved 39 goals between 1930 and 1940. Cillian stands as Mayo’s all-time leading scorer, amassing a total of 39 goals and 507 points since his debut in 2011.

There is one change to the team that faced Galway in the first round, with Paul Towey, who impressed on his outing to Pearse Stadium, recalled to the starting fifteen in place of Tommy Conroy. Paddy Durcan, Castlebar Mitchels will captain the team on the day.

Longford referee, Fergal Kelly, will be the man in the middle for this encounter.

The Allianz National Football League Division 1 matchup between Mayo and reigning All-Ireland champions Dublin will be broadcast live on RTÉ2 with coverage beginning at 7:15pm. Live broadcast on Midwest Radio, commentary with Michael D McAndrew and Martin Carney.

Mayo GAA will have updates across all social media platforms on Saturday.

This match is an all ticket event.

Purchase your tickets here


The Mayo team is as follows:

  1. Colm Reape, Knockmore
  2. Jack Coyne, Ballyhaunis
  3. Rory Brickenden, Westport
  4. Sam Callinan Ballina Stephenites
  5. Paddy Durcan (C), Castlebar Mitchels
  6. David McBrien Ballaghadereen
  7. Eoghan McLaughlin Westport
  8. Jordan Flynn Crossmolina Deel Rovers
  9. Jack Carney Kilmeena
  10. Conor Reid Bohola Moy Davitts
  11. Fergal Boland, Aghamore
  12. Bob Tuohy Castlebar Mitchels
  13. Aidan O’Shea Breaffy
  14. Paul Towey Charlestown Sarsfiels
  15. Ryan O’Donoghue, Béal and Mhuirthead


16. Rob Hennelly Raheny
17. Stephen Coen Hollymount Carramore
18. Tommy Conroy The Neale
19. Diarmuid Duffy Ballinrobe
20. Aaron McDonnell Ballinrobe
21. Donnacha McHugh Castlebar Mitchels
22. Conor McStay Ballina Stephenites
23. James Murphy Ballinrobe
24. Cillian O’Connor Ballintubber
25. Michael Plunkett Ballintubber
26. Kevin Quinn Ballinrobe

Management Team:

Manager: Kevin McStay

Selectors: Stephen Rochford, Donie Buckley, Damien Mulligan and Joe Canney