Mayo Senior Football Team Announced

Press release


Mayo GAA Senior Football Manager Kevin McStay Announces Three Changes for Allianz National Football League Round 6 Game


Mayo GAA Senior football manager, Kevin McStay, has made three changes to the team lineup ahead of this weekend’s round 6 game of the Allianz National Football League. The match, against Derry, is scheduled to take place at Hastings Insurance McHale Park in Castlebar on Sunday, March 17th, with throw-in set for 3.45pm. All the action will be live on TG4.

Ballinrobe’s Aaron McDonnell has been selected to join the starting fifteen in defence, making his league debut as he replaces Jack Coyne.

Other changes see Tommy Conroy of The Neale starting ahead of Charlestown’s Paul Towey.  Breaffy’s Matthew Ruane also steps in for Westport’s Eoghan McLaughlin.

Breaffy’s Aidan O’Shea is poised to make his 100th appearance in the Green and Red of Mayo at National League level during Sunday’s match. This milestone achievement is a testament to his enduring commitment and contribution to Mayo GAA and compliments the 84 Championship outings already under his belt. Aidan made his Mayo debut during the 2009 National League campaign, coincidentally against the men of Derry.

This will be the 29th league meeting with Mayo and Derry with matters fairly even between the counties. 13 wins to Derry, 12 to Mayo and 3 draws in 1981, 1987 and 1990. The first two league meetings were in the league semi-finals with Derry winning in 1961 and Mayo in 1970, before their first regular league meeting in November 1970 in MacHale Park, Castlebar. Eleven league meetings have been played in Mayo venues, MacHale Park 4 times, Charlestown 3, Ballina 2 with Kiltimagh in 1981 and Crossmolina in 2002 hosting one game each.
Stephen Coen of Hollymount Carramore will captain the team on Sunday. Tipperary’s Sean Lonergan will be the man in the middle for this game.
Midwest Radio will have live coverage with Michael D McAndrew and Michael Moyles on commentary. Mayo GAA will have live updates across all social media channels on Sunday.
Purchase your tickets here:
The Mayo senior football team is as follows:
  1. Colm Reape Knockmore
  2. Aaron McDonnell Ballinrobe
  3. Rory Brickenden Westport
  4. Sam Callinan Ballina Stephenites
  5. Donnacha McHugh Castlebar Mithels
  6. Stephen Coen (C) Hollymount Carramore
  7. Enda Hession Garrymore
  8. Jack Carney Kilmeena
  9. Matthew Ruane Breaffy
  10. Bob Tuohy Castlebar Mitchels
  11. Fergal Boland Aghamore
  12. Jordan Flynn Crossmolina Deel Rovers
  13. Aidan O’Shea Breaffy
  14. Tommy Conroy The Neale
  15. Ryan O’Donoghue Béal an Mhuirthead
Manager: Kevin McStay
Coach/Selectors: Stephen Rochford, Donie Buckley, Damien Mulligan and Joe Canney