Mayo Senior Football Team Announced

Press Release
Mayo GAA senior football manager Kevin McStay and his management team have made eight changes to the team that played Derry last Sunday. This is the final round in the Allianz National Football league for Mayo playing Monaghan this Sunday the 24th March at 1:45pm in Clones.
The following players coming into this weeks team, Rory Byrne, Paddy Durcan, Michael Plunkett, David Mc Brien, Darren McHale, Frank Irwin, Cillian O’Connor and Paul Towey and they replace, Colm Reape, Donnacha McHugh, Enda Hession, Stephen Coen, Bob Tuohy, Fergal Boland, Jordan Flynn and Jack Carney. Aidan O’ Shea will equal Andy Moran’s appearance record of 185 League and Championship appearances for Mayo.
This Sunday’s meeting will be the 21st between the counties in the League, with the first being a 1981 meeting in Monaghan which Mayo won 2-9 to 1-7.  Of the previous 20 meetings, Mayo have won 13, Monaghan 6, with just one draw, the 1985 meeting in Castlebar. 11 of the games have been played at Monaghan venues, 8 in Mayo, and the 1986 semi-final meeting which Monaghan won 0-10 to 1-6 was played in Croke Park.  5 different Monaghan venues have hosted League meetings between the counties, Clones 5, Clontibret 2, Scotstown 2, Monaghan 1 and Inniskeen 1, with Mayo’s home games being played in Castlebar 7 and Ballina 1.
Despite being regular League opponents in recent times, Mayo and Monaghan have only ever met once in the championship, and that was as recently as 2022, when Mayo triumphed 1-13 to 0-12 in Castlebar.
Fermanagh native Niall Cullen has been confirmed as the referee for Sunday.
This game is on Midwest Radio with live commentary with Michael D McAndrew and Mark Ronaldson.
Mayo GAA will have live updates across all social media platforms on Sunday afternoon.
Purchase your tickets here:
The Mayo senior football team is as follows:
  1. Rory Byrne Castlebar Mitchels
  2. Aaron McDonnell Ballinrobe
  3. Rory Brickenden Westport
  4. Sam Callinan Ballina Stephenites
  5. Paddy Durcan (C) Castlebar Mitchels
  6. David McBrien Ballaghaderreen
  7. Michael Plunkett Ballintubber
  8. Matthew Ruane Breaffy
  9. Aidan O’Shea Breaffy
  10. Darren McHale Knockmore
  11. Ryan O’Donoghue Béal an Mhuirthead
  12. Frank Irwin Ballina Stephenites
  13. Tommy Conroy The Neale
  14. Cillian O’Connor Ballintubber
  15. Paul Towey Charlestown Sarsfields
Manager: Kevin McStay
Coach/Selectors: Stephen Rochford, Donie Buckley, Damien Mulligan and Joe Canney