Mayo Senior Football Team Announced



Press Release
Mayo name team to face New York
Mayo GAA Senior football manager Kevin McStay has named a very strong team to face New York in the opening round of the Connacht GAA senior football championship this weekend.  There are no championship debutants in the starting fifteen with regular defenders Stephen Coen, Paddy Durcan and Eoghan McLaughlin making up a very formidable half back line. Behind them Jack Coyne, Rory Brickenden and Sam Callinan are now all well established starters for Mayo. Matthew Ruane will be partnered by the versatile David McBrien at midfield on Sunday with Jack Carney, Fergal Boland and Bob Tuohy making up an impressive half forward line. The inside line also has plenty of potency with sharpshooter Ryan O’Donoghue, Tommy Conroy and Aidan O’Shea all listed to start.
The game at Gaelic Park in the Bronx on Sunday will see Aidan O’Shea make his 185th Mayo appearance. It will be his 85th championship game, a new Mayo record equalling Kerry legend Colm ‘Gooch’ Cooper on the national stage.  Only Marc and Tomás Ó Sé, Sean Cavanagh and Stephen Cluxton have more appearances now than Adian O’Shea.  Aidan made his debut for Mayo against Derry back in February 2009 in the Allianz National Football League.
Mayo Captain Paddy Durcan will make his 100th Mayo appearance  on Sunday while Fergal Boland will be making his 50th appearance for Mayo also this weekend.
The game is live on GAAGO with live radio commentary on Midwest Radio with Michael D McAndrew and Martin Carney. Mayo GAA will have live updates from the game plus all the colour and pageantry from Gaelic Park across all social media channels.
Mayo Senior Team is as Follow:
  1. Colm Reape Knockmore
  2. Jack Coyne Balyhaunis
  3. Rory Brickenden Westport
  4. Sam Callinan Ballina Stephenites
  5. Paddy Durcan (C) Castlebar Mitchels
  6. Stephen Coen Hollymount Carramore
  7. Eoghan McLaughlin Westport
  8. David McBrien Ballaghaderreen
  9. Matthew Ruane Breaffy
  10. Bob Tuohy Castlebar Mitchels
  11. Fergal Boland Aghamore
  12. Jack Carney Kilmeena
  13. Aidan O’Shea Breaffy
  14. Tommy Conroy The Neale
  15. Ryan O’Donoghue Béal an Mhuirthead
  1. Rob Hennelly Raheny
  2. Aaron McDonnell Ballinrobe
  3. Cillian O’Connor Ballintubber
  4. Conor Hunt Aghamore
  5. Conor McStay Ballina Stephenites
  6. Darren McHale Knockmore
  7. Enda Hession Garrymore
  8. Fenton Kelly Davitts
  9. Michael Plunkett Ballintubber
  10. Padraig O’Hora Ballina Stephenites
  11. Paul Towey Charlestown Sarsfield
Management Team:
Manager: Kevin McStay
Coach/Selectors: Stephen Rochford, Donie Buckley, Joe Canney and Damien Mulligan